The Governor General's Canadian Leadership Conference

GGCLC_WebBanners_Downloads.jpg

Theme: Leadership and Sustainable Communities

Community is a word with which we are all familiar. We live in communities where we live, work, learn, worship and play. We also belong to communities based on culture, language, ethnic background, religion, profession, special interests and aspirations. Increasingly we view our favorite social networking sites as extensions of our physical communities.

The traditional concept of community or “communitas”– which asserts a set of common interests that binds people together - has not changed in more than 2,000 years. What has changed, however, is the world in which our communities exist.

Leaders today face multiple challenges to the sustainability of our communities – economic, environmental, social and cultural.

Sustainability is the capacity to endure, as Wikipedia notes: “In ecology, the word describes how biological systems remain diverse and productive over time... For humans, sustainability is the potential for long-term maintenance of well being, which has environmental, economic, and social dimensions.” And, indeed, moral dimensions as well.

Sustainability and community were prominently linked by the Brundtland Commission of the United Nations in its historic 1987 report, which defined sustainable development as development that meets the needs of present communities without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.

Sustainable communities require effective leaders. Today’s leaders must have the capacity to think and project beyond the front lines of their own organizations in order to understand, engage and motivate the people they lead and the communities in which they function. Leaders must have a capacity to find shared values and common ground that extend not just to the current generation, but to future generations as well.

The 2012 Governor General’s Canadian Leadership Conference will examine the role that leaders play in building prosperous, healthy and sustainable communities. Conference members will experience communities that are embracing a positive and optimistic vision of their future. They will experience situations where leadership is required to help move communities forward on unfamiliar ground. They will see first-hand how leaders determine outcomes.

The Conference will challenge participants to explore attitudes, actions and engagement on a range of issues and experiences from local and national perspectives, including:

  • The economic, social and environmental dimensions of sustainability from the practical perspective of Canadian individuals and communities;

  • Areas of commonality and difference on sustainability among Canadians of different regions, cultures and demographic groups;

  • Examples of Canadian communities that have endured challenges to their sustainability and have examples of exemplary leadership that have made this happen;

  • How new Canadians interpret sustainable communities from the perspective of their own cultural identity within the broader Canadian identity;

  • The impact of global economic change and international trade on sustainable communities;

  • The vital role of voluntarism and personal engagement in sustainable communities, and the leadership that shapes such engagement;

  • How qualities of leadership help determine the capacity of communities to sustain their futures;

  • The common threads running through our communities that determine our values and define us as Canadians;

  • How and why effective leadership matters more than ever.


Throughout the Conference, members will meet with Canadians from all walks of life who are dedicated to helping individuals engage in common enterprise and build sustainable communities. The links between sustainable communities, the national perspective and Canada’s place in the global community will underpin this examination.



Share |

Sponsors

The Conference is funded entirely by donations from organizations and individuals who support the development of skilled Canadian leadership.

2012 Members

Alumni Community

Access to additional resources for conference Alumni.

Notice: Constant _UE_LISTVIEW already defined in /home/t100250/2012/language/french.php on line 643

Notice: Constant _UPDATE already defined in /home/t100250/2012/language/french.php on line 817

Notice: Constant _UE_BANREASON already defined in /home/t100250/2012/language/french.php on line 830

Notice: Constant _UE_MEMBERSINCE already defined in /home/t100250/2012/language/french.php on line 890
La Conférence canadienne du Gouverneur général sur le leadership - Thème

La Conférence canadienne du Gouverneur général sur le leadership

GGCLC_WebBanners_Executive.jpg

Thème : Leadership et collectivités durables

Collectivité est un terme qui nous est familier. C'est le lieu où nous vivons, travaillons, apprenons, exerçons notre culte et nous divertissons. Nous appartenons à des collectivités qui reposent sur une culture, une langue, une identité ethnique, une religion, une profession, des intérêts communs et des aspirations. Et de plus en plus, nous considérons les sites de réseautage personnel comme des prolongements de nos collectivités.

Le concept traditionnel de la collectivité, c'est-à-dire de l'ensemble d'individus liés par des intérêts communs, est le même depuis plus de deux millénaires. Ce qui change, c'est le monde où évoluent nos collectivités.

Aujourd'hui, nos dirigeants doivent relever divers défis quant à la durabilité économique, environnementale, sociale et culturelle de nos collectivités.

Durabilité est un mot qui renvoie à la capacité de subsister, tout comme l'indique Wikipédia : « Dans le domaine de l'écologie, il décrit la manière dont les systèmes biologiques restent divers et productifs avec le temps. Appliqué à l'humain, il renvoie à la capacité de maintenir le bien-être à long terme, ce qui comporte des dimensions environnementale, économique et sociale. » Sans oublier une dimension morale.

Les notions de durabilité et de collectivité ont été clairement reliées dans le Rapport Brundtland de la Commission mondiale sur l'environnement et le développement mise sur pied à l'initiative des Nations unies en 1987. Ce document définissait le développement durable comme l'objectif de développement actuel compatible avec les besoins des générations futures.

Les collectivités durables doivent être dirigées efficacement. De nos jours, les dirigeants doivent être capables de voir au-delà de leurs propres organisations pour comprendre, intéresser et motiver les gens qu'ils dirigent et les collectivités auxquelles ils appartiennent. Ils doivent pouvoir trouver des valeurs collectives et des bases communes auxquelles s'identifieront non seulement la génération actuelle, mais aussi celles de l'avenir.

La Conférence canadienne du Gouverneur général sur le leadership 2012 examinera le rôle des dirigeants dans l'édification de collectivités prospères, saines et durables. Ses participants feront une incursion dans des collectivités qui ont une vision positive et optimiste de leurs futurs. Ils seront témoins de situations nécessitant un leadership pouvant aider une collectivité à progresser en terrain inconnu. Ils verront par eux-mêmes comment des dirigeants peuvent faire avancer les choses.

La Conférence invitera ses participants à étudier des attitudes, des actions et des engagements relatifs à un nombre d'enjeux et d'expériences sur les plans local et national, dont :

  • Les dimensions économique, sociale et environnementale de la durabilité telles que vues par des citoyens et des collectivités du Canada;

  • Les opinions communes et divergentes de Canadiens de régions, cultures et groupes démographiques divers concernant la durabilité;

  • Des collectivités canadiennes qui ont affronté des défis en matière de durabilité et qui les ont relevés grâce à un leadership exemplaire;

  • Comment les néo-Canadiens perçoivent les collectivités durables par rapport à leur propre identité culturelle à l'intérieur de l'identité canadienne;

  • L'impact de l'évolution de l'économie mondiale et du commerce international sur les collectivités durables;

  • Le rôle essentiel du volontarisme et de l'engagement personnel dans les collectivités durables, et le sens du leadership qui sous-tend un tel engagement;

  • Le rôle du leadership dans l'avenir durable d'une collectivité;

  • Les facteurs communs à nos collectivités, qui déterminent nos valeurs et nous définissent en tant que Canadiens;

  • Comment et pourquoi un leadership efficace importe plus que jamais. .


Pendant la Conférence, les participants rencontreront des Canadiens de tous milieux qui se sont donné pour mission d'aider leurs semblables à s'engager dans des gestes collectifs pour bâtir des collectivités durables. Les liens entre les collectivités durables, la perspective nationale et la place du Canada dans la collectivité mondiale serviront de trame à cette expérience d'apprentissage.



Donateurs

La Conférence est financée par des dons d'organisations et d'individus, pour développer le leadership au Canada.

Membres 2012

Communauté des anciens

Ressources supplémentaires destinées aux anciens de la Conférence.