The Governor General's Canadian Leadership Conference

GGCLC_WebBanners_2012Conference.jpg

ABOUT THE GGCLC

The Governor General's Canadian Leadership Conference was created to broaden the perspectives of future leaders in business, unions and public administration so that their decisions are based on a practical understanding of the influence of their organizations on the general welfare of the community.

The mission of the Governor General's Canadian Leadership Conference is to:

  • Improve decision-making abilities among young leaders likely to occupy high level positions in the near future;

  • Facilitate a more progressive era of interaction between leaders from business, labour, government and the broader community; and

  • Broaden understanding of Canada.

Mandate

Members of the Governor General's Canadian Leadership Conference come from different regions of Canada, different perspectives and different careers. All members share one thing in common: they are high potential individuals expected to achieve senior leadership positions in their organizations and communities.

The Canadian leadership conferences began in 1983 as a means to help build Canada. They involve a unique process of examination, debate and discovery designed to broaden perspectives and enhance the leadership qualities of members.

The Governor General's Canadian Leadership Conference is designed to pack the most intense experiences of life in Canadian industry and community into a unique 2-week event.

Members

Members typically are managers and officials drawn from business, labour, professional and government positions as well as from academia, community and voluntary groups , and the cultural sector. They will have acquired considerable knowledge and experience and an appreciation of the economic and social conditions impacting on their community and Canada as a whole.

Members are also expected to have a capacity for leadership; to be able to contribute to the effective working of a group; to have strong interpersonal skills; to be able to undertake the program travel schedule, and to have a genuine interest in the overall theme and topics of the Conference.

Share |

Sponsors

The Conference is funded entirely by donations from organizations and individuals who support the development of skilled Canadian leadership.

2012 Members

Alumni Community

Access to additional resources for conference Alumni.

La Conférence canadienne du Gouverneur général sur le leadership

GGCLC_WebBanners_AboutGGCLC.jpg

À propos de la Conférence

La Conférence canadienne du Gouverneur général sur le leadership a été créée dans le but d'élargir les perspectives des futurs dirigeants d'entreprises, de syndicats et d'organismes publics, de sorte qu'ils pourront prendre leurs décisions en pleine connaissance de l'impact que leur organisation peut avoir sur le bien-être général de la société.

La Conférence se donne pour mission :

  • d'aiguiser les aptitudes décisionnelles chez les jeunes dirigeants appelés à occuper des postes élevés dans un proche avenir;

  • de favoriser une plus grande ouverture dans les relations entre dirigeants d'entreprises, de syndicats et d'organismes publics et la société en général;

  • de favoriser une compréhension plus globale du Canada.

Mandat

Les participants à la Conférence proviennent de différentes régions du Canada, de différents horizons et de différents secteurs d'activité. Ils ont tous une chose en commun : ce sont des éléments très prometteurs qu'on voit bien se hisser aux échelons les plus élevés de leur organisation et de leur collectivité.

Les conférences sur le leadership ont été instituées en 1983 pour contribuer à l'édification de la société canadienne. Leur démarche d'examen, de débat et de découverte, unique en son genre, est conçue pour élargir les perspectives et aiguiser les qualités de chef des participants.

Elles condensent en l'espace de deux semaines une somme d'expériences parmi les plus intenses qu'on puisse avoir en côtoyant la vie industrielle et communautaire canadienne.

Membres

De façon générale, les candidats seront des gestionnaires ou des cadres provenant du monde des affaires, des syndicats et du secteur public ou des milieux universitaire, communautaire, bénévole et culturel. Ils auront acquis énormément de connaissances et d'expérience et seront en mesure de comprendre l'incidence des facteurs sociaux et économiques sur leur communauté et le Canada dans son ensemble.

Les candidats doivent témoigner des qualités de chef, pouvoir contribuer utilement au travail en groupe, être habiles en communications interpersonnelles, pouvoir suivre le calendrier des déplacements et s'intéresser à fond au thème central et aux sujets d'étude de la Conférence.

Donateurs

La Conférence est financée par des dons d'organisations et d'individus, pour développer le leadership au Canada.

Membres 2012

Communauté des anciens

Ressources supplémentaires destinées aux anciens de la Conférence.